That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

August 14, 2007

Coliseum Mall Opening Week Microfilms from The Daily Press

Filed under: "coliseum mall",J.C. Penney,newspaper clippings — Anita @ 9:42 pm

When I went to the Newport News library to do research on Newmarket North/Newmarket Fair, I also did a small bit of research on Coliseum Mall the week it opened in October of 1973. I could only print a few things because my dad was getting ready to pick me up from the library, and I was mainly there to get Newmarket North stuff for a paper I was writing back in March. So I only have a few things:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketFrom only looking at a few photos, I think that Waldenbooks moved during its tenure at the mall. The directory that was in that 1973 paper had Waldenbooks near where Korvettes/Wards/Burlington was. I remember Waldenbooks from when I was growing up until they closed in 2002 or 2003 near Rices-Nachmans/Hess/Proffits/Dillards. It was almost next to the short lived Disney store and almost across from the Coffee Beanery.“Mall Lerner’s Modern” more press releases passing for news articles like we saw in the Newmarket entry, also includes a bad photo of Coliseum’s Lerner location. I went in here when it was New York & Co. in 2002 with my half sister and the store was still pretty much stuck in the late 1970’s.

A HUGE ad for the grand opening of the recently closed and moved JC Penney. That drawing of the building is pretty accurate.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketYeah, I shoulda fixed this crookedness in iPhoto when I uploaded this months ago. This is from February of 1981, and reprinted in The Daily Press in April of 2005 when the redevelopment plans for Coliseum Mall was revealed.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketHere is the mall map from 1973. I wish I had a map from the late 1980’s/early 1990’s when the Food Court was added

Article about the mall’s opening day

Article Continued

Finally, maybe somebody here can decipher this drawing of the mall:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketI see the flyover, some puffy clouds, some seagulls that wuld later be Newmarket Noths logo…it looks like something that won a high school drawing contest.

Maybe one day I can go out to the main branch of the Newport News library by myself when I get a car with a better transmission and steering and get more Coliseum Mall info.

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you so much for researching & posting these.

    The mall map from ’73 esp. resurrects some very old dim memories.

    Like now I know where the movie theater was . . .

    I remember the Blue Hawaii (never ate there, but . . .). Other store names/locations ring a similar bell & help piece things together. Bresler’s Ice Cream, Picadilly, Waldenbooks I went to.

    As for the Coliseum Mall drawing, kinda matches my memory of the mall (perhaps a bad sign).

    Comment by Kevin Seward — August 15, 2007 @ 9:30 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

