That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

January 13, 2006

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business Sale (Hampton, VA)

Filed under: dead stores — Anita @ 8:21 pm

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business (Hampton, VA)

The Toys R Us in Hampton, VA that I lived in until I was 10 is going out of business along with 70-something other locations.

This store is in pretty poor shape (it’s been a Toys R Us since either the late 70’s or early 1980’s) but I always held my breath every time Toys R Us did a massive closing, but this one just didn’t make it this time.

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business (Hampton, VA)

Geoffrey telling us where to put the carts at for the last time.

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business (Hampton, VA)

A busted up plastic cart (most of the carts in the store were the old timey metal kind) sitting next to the store. Mom and I always parked on the side of the store. I still remember every detail when we parked and walked up the sidewalk to the store.

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business (Hampton, VA)

This broke my heart the most. When I was little mom and dad would take me here about 3 times a month, we’d always drive to the back of the store to get out of the shopping center, and I always looked to see if the big Toys R Us truck with Geoffrey painted on it was there. ‘Cause Geoffrey was my freakin’ idol growing up.

I almost cried when I saw it was still parked back there.

Toys R Us Going Out Of Business Sale (Hampton, VA)

The anc-ient Hampton Plaza sign advertising Toys R Us as its main anchor. You know, I highly doubt that something will take this buildings place once it closes shop next week. (the signs on the windows said, “Last 10 Days!”)

And this was the last thing I’ll ever buy from the Hampton Toys R Us, a sunbleached Frank Grimes Simpsons playset:

Grimey!

The fixtures were also for sale in the store, and I asked if I could buy the doormat with Geoffrey on it, but the manager said it was not for sale because the store’s name was on it. I think some of the workers (who were in surprisingly good spirits, they must of gotten a great severance plan) really wanted me to buy it. There was even one guy who worked there who was riding a bike around the store. I wish I could’ve gotten a pic of that! As I was driving away from the store I waved “bye bye” to it and this woman crossing the street probably saw me and thought I was batshit insane.

4 Comments »

  1. The entire strip was an old GEX store which closed in the late 70s (I moved to Hampton in June 1980, and it was still vacant then). Toys R Us moved in in 81, and there was a Drug Emporium, TJ Maxx and Chuck E. Cheese’s Pizza Time Theater. GEX Tire was still at the end of the strip then.

    Comment by Silver Bluehttp://thesilverblue.com/wp — January 18, 2006 @ 8:26 pm | Reply

  2. You know what, Anita? I think the days of the specialty stores like toy stores, clothes stores, etc. are numbered. We live in a Wal-Mart K-mart age where you can get everything at one store and not have to drive from place to place like we did 30 or 40 years ago. I like Toys-r-Us and its rival Lionel Kiddie City because they had great selections of toys and games.

    Bob (Glasses Dork)
    bubbaflavel@hotmail.com

    Comment by Bob Simmons — March 1, 2006 @ 4:57 pm | Reply

  3. What a sad end. This store site was my first real job…and will be remembered. I used to go out on breaks, and visit either the blockbuster on the corner, or head over to BK with a friend of mine. But I usualy hit up the electronics section, like all the other kids my age did back then.

    Heck, I GOT the job by pure perserverence. I used to go into the shop with a blue polo and a black hunting vest, and looked similar enough that people would ask me questions. I was actually asked by a manager one time why my vest was different, and to keep up the good work. They couldn’t NOT hire me that day.

    So, sad to see the memories are going to last only in our minds, and the few photos you were gracious enough to take. Thanks for the memories.

    PS: The guy on the bike was Maurice…he was the bike-shop manager, and put them together for cutomers. He always rode them around, and would brighten everyone’s day.

    Comment by Ship — June 10, 2006 @ 5:35 pm | Reply

  4. Crap, I loved this Toys R Us in Hampton! Every time we used to go to Chuck E. Cheese, we walked over after we went there and browsed the aisles. I miss this one. It was huge in there! Well, I hope the one in Newport News dosen’t close

    P.S. You can see the Gefforey truck in the back of the NPN one sometimes, I like it too!

    Comment by Ryan — September 5, 2007 @ 7:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

