That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

September 15, 2005

The Last Famous Person At Newmarket Fair Mall

Filed under: newmarket fair mall,newspaper clippings — Anita @ 6:11 pm

Al Borland & I

I got to meet Richard Karn (the guy who played Al Borland on Home Improvement) at Newmarket Fair Mall (now Netcenter on June 14, 1993 the day after my last day in the 4th grade. I don’t own that dumb shirt anymore nor those dumb looking mushroom bangs. The boy in the red and black baseball cap in the photo is my nephew Kenny. He was about 7 or 8 at the time.

Here is the newspaper the next day about it. I was shocked when I found this in an old box when my parents and I were being moved out of our house this past summer:

The Last Famous Person To Step Into Newmarket Fair

He came to do this meet and greet right before Leggett (in the background) died. I think they were just about to do their going out of business sale. Those stairs in the background are now painted white and this area of the mall is now for netcenter employees.

I can still remember sitting in line that day waiting to see Richard. I think I was in line about an hour. Funny how he looked just like he did on TV. Usually when you see someone in person that you are used to seeing on TV they look totally different, but man, Richard looked like Richard.

1 Comment »

  1. Who’d have thought he’d be the only one from “Home Improvement” with a steady job these days?

    Comment by Steven Swain — September 18, 2005 @ 5:37 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

