That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

August 23, 2005

Back When Garfield Was On All Fours

Filed under: 1983 JC Penney & Sears Catalogs — Anita @ 4:22 am

Today I wanted to reserve my 1983 catalog entries to one section, and to one catalog. In 1983 the Sears Wish Book devoted 4 pages to … Garfield. (you know, back when Garfield was funny). When I was 13-17 I had a huge garfield collection I probably had over 100 Garfield things, but looking at this stuff I only owned 3 things out of this catalog spread:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I owned several of those little Odies (mom and relatives would pick them up for me at the thrift stores and yard sales, they didn’t know how many little Odies I had). I think I had 4 of these guys before my collection ended. (I packed it up when we moved to Wakefield in 2000 and put it in my attic).

No, those Garfields in the bottom left corner are not wearing glasses, they were talking Garfields whose eyes would move. I guess they didn’t think about painting the inside of Garfield’s head orange so it wouldn’t look like he was wearing glasses.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I wish I had found one of those Garfield tote bags when I was collecting, I’d carry that around as a purse.

Oh hey, I forgot I had a close up of it:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I like the little Garfield scooter thing with him holding the rear of it. They don’t make things like that anymore. Too bad 90% of them got rust and sun damage by the time summer of 1984 arrived.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

If they made that sleeping bag (lower left corner) when I was in my sleepover days I would of been all over that. Instead I got Mickey and Minnie mouse one and a Babysitter’s Club one.

Check out the latchhook kit, that’s kinda sad. It looks like Garfield up in kitty heaven.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I had a plethora of metal wastebasket bins growing up. Strawberry Shortcake, Holly Hobbie and a late 80’s Garfield one. But man did those things get NASTY after the first time you trashed a soda can that had just a little bit of soda left in it. I still remember the smell of my Garfield one. Yuck. I just use a piority mail box for a wastebasket now and carry my soda cans to the kitchen to be thrown away. Finally learned my lesson after 22 years.

2 Comments »

  1. I SO had one of those Garfield trashcans!
    It MIGHT still be at my parents’ house!

    Comment by Gary — July 7, 2008 @ 12:47 pm | Reply

  2. I have that Garfield trash can. Bought it in 1982 at Gibson’s Discount Center on Sheridan Rd. in Lawton, OK. WOW!!! Love this site!!! I remember when our JCPenney Christmas Catalog came every year, we’d start in the back and go towards the front, stopping when the “baby stuff” pages showed up.

    Comment by Ally Greer — October 14, 2010 @ 2:57 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

