That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

August 2, 2005

"Wow! New Scam Targets Investors!"

I took a photo of the big article my local paper; The Daily Press did about Hecht’s turning into Macy’s within the next year. Hopefully this week I will go by Coliseum [Hampton, VA] and Patrick Henry [Newport News, VA] malls and take pics of Hecht’sbefore they get turned into Macy’s.

The Hecht’s in the photo is the one at Patrick Henry.

I’m not upset about Hecht’s being turned into Macy’s. I think I’ve only shopped in Hecht’s once in my entire life and that was in 2001 to get this cookware set for my half sister; Lisa. I will pop into Macy’s when the namechange happens to see what it is like though.

I do hope that Macy’s does bring new life into Coliseum Mall in Hampton. The mall has fallen on hard times. Half the food court is gone, the Dillards that merged with the Patrick Henry Dillards has been closed for 3 years, and Burlington Coat Factory only took up half of the old Wards. But I am worried that Macy’s may never come, though. The Hect’s wing of Coliseum is deadder than dead. It’s been since Thalheimers closed in the late 1980’s.

1 Comment »

  1. I seriously doubt Macy’s will make it to some of the marginal May stores like Coliseum, though I hope my hunch is wrong.

    Comment by Steven Swain — August 3, 2005 @ 4:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

