That Mall is sick and that Store is dead!

June 5, 2005

My Baby!

Filed under: newmarket fair mall — Anita @ 1:42 am

The Old Newmarket Fair Mall Sign

Yesterday I went driving around Newport News, Va (near my hometown of Hampton, VA) and I drove by my childhood mall –Newmarket North (1975-1990) / Newmarket Fair (1990- 1999)/ Netcenter (1999-present) . I just always call it “Newmarket Fair”. (mall bio I found off of finditva.com 2 months ago.

This place stopped being a mall in 1999 (but it had died around 1990 when anchor Miller & Rhoads closed), and now (expect for the Sears and Piccaddily Cafeteria) it is all offices. Verizon/Fanueil Group has the former Miller & Rhoads (I applied there in 2002 but failed the math test–good riddance! Every time I went to the place for an interview/open house it just looked like a horrible place to work at), Northrop Gruman has the former Leggetts, and Sears is still around (I assume Sears is still around because its the only one in the area, and they can’t find another huge building to move into) . I drove by the former mall entrances. The first floor still looks the way I last saw it in 1998-ish. It seems that around the mall entrance for Sears, regular joes can still enter. I’m not sure about the other former mall entrances. I think I might bribe my friend Melissa into going back over there on my birthday soon.

It was a really, really nasty day out (super foggy!) yesterday when I did my drive by. So here are the other two pics I could nab:

This is the former Leggetts. It’s been remodled in the past few years. Norhrop Gruman (the shipyard)now owns this:

Northrop Gruman (former Leggetts at the former Newmarket Fair Mall)

I don’t have before photos (I kick myself in the butt for this every day!), but the old Leggett looked kinda like this Belk in Eastland Mall in Charlotte, North Carolina:

(taken from Steven Swain’s blog)

Newmarket’s was brick though, and the facade was more orange-y. And the building was narrower.

This is where mom and I would always park whenever we would go to Sears and the mall:

My Baby!

I hope to take photos of Newmarket/Netcenter again in a few weeks. Hopefully the weather will be better, and there won’t be that many employees out on their smoke breaks blocking the entrances.

2 Comments »

  1. Nice baby pictures! LOL

    Comment by Steven Swain — June 5, 2005 @ 5:38 am | Reply

  2. I too am a fan of Newmarket Mall. I first went there in 1999 and was fascinated by the concept that a mall could actually die.. so slowly and painfully. I remember the poor excuse of a Sears, an African store, a Zap electronics, a Hillshire Farm store… but for the most part the mall was deserted and there were maybe a handful of people in there at any given time. Also, the upstairs men’s bathroom by the previous food court was definitely a spot for gay males.

    Comment by ellez — August 13, 2009 @ 2:43 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

